CHADD Announces 2017 Young Scientist Research Award Winners

 ADHD Weekly 2017-08-31

CHADD is pleased to present Matthew J. Gormley, PhD, and Jaclyn Kamradt, MA, as winners of the 2017 Young Scientist Research Awards competition. Dr. Gormley and Ms. Kamradt will each receive $1,000 along with recognition in November during the 2017 Annual International Conference on ADHD in Atlanta, Georgia. They will also receive a professional membership in CHADD for one year.

The qualifications and research study submissions of these emerging researchers received the highest marks among a pool of outstanding applications. Members of the CHADD Professional Advisory Board evaluated and scored the applicants on their research studies records, publications, recommendations from professors, and planned future contributions. Their submitted research studies were evaluated on significance, rigor of methodology-design, clarity of the problem, relevance/adequacy of literature review, and contribution of new knowledge. The reviewers then included an overall impression score of the candidates and their research.

Matthew J. Gormley, PhD, is an assistant professor of School Psychology in the Department of Educational Psychology at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. His research submission is Consistency in Transition: Supporting Students with ADHD Through Their Academic Carriers.

Jaclyn Kamradt, MA, is a doctoral candidate in the Clinical Psychology Program at the University of Iowa’s Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences. Her research submission is Sluggish Cognitive Tempo as a Transdiagnostic Link Between Adult ADHD and Internalizing Symptoms.

Supporting and providing access to evidence-based research are important parts of CHADD’s mission to improve the lives of children and adults with ADHD. CHADD congratulates these young researchers and looks forward to receiving their continued contributions to our understanding of ADHD. 

Learn more about our awardees and their research and the Young Scientist Awards program.

CHADD has announced the 2017 Young Scientist Research Award winners. Matthew J. Gormley, PhD, and Jaclyn Kamradt, MA, were selected by the CHADD Professional Advisory Board for their research and achievements towards improving our understanding of ADHD. Keep reading for more on these rising researchers in the field of ADHD.